The Dangers of Wearing a Skirt

An (not so) academic study by me;

Times harassed on the street whilst wearing my usual clothes (jeans and a jumper): Zero.

Times harassed on the street whilst wearing a skirt and thin black tights: Five.

Dear obnoxious men of the world, contrary to popular opinion, a woman wearing revealing clothing is not an open invitation for harassment. There are a number of reasons why a woman would want to wear revealing clothing, including (but not limited to):

  • It’s more practical. (This was the case for me, as I was on my way to a dress rehearsal and it was easier to just wear half of my costume)
  • It’s a warm day. (Which was also the case)
  • They just want to.

Very rarely does a woman wear revealing clothing to be yelled at and wolf-whistled to by obnoxious men.

We seem to live in a society which has sexualised the female body to such an extent that just the suggestion of skin means than men feel to right to degrade complete strangers.

Interestingly, all of the men who jeered at me today were in cars, so were able to make a swift getaway. Which is convenient for them, as it prevented me from retorting in a calm manner (aka break the cowards noses) like I wanted to.

One thought on “The Dangers of Wearing a Skirt

Leave a Reply

