Fictional Intruder

Daily Prompt: Go down the rabbit hole with Alice; play quidditch with Harry Potter; float down the river with Huck Finn… If you could choose three fictional events or adventures to experience yourself, what would they be?

1. The Sorting Ceremony- Harry Potter

Now slip me snug about your ears,
I’ve never yet been wrong,
I’ll have a look inside your mind
And tell where you belong!

I couldn’t tell you how many sorting quizzes I’ve taken over the years. I think the reason that people identify with the Hogwarts houses so much are that their houses identify a very strong trait of their personality that they wish to cultivate. For me, I always wanted to be a Gryffindor, so I was pretty thrilled when I joined Pottermore and was sorted into Gryffindor. But then I went to Durham University and became a prefect for Hufflepuff…

I have an affinity for all of the houses, so I’m not really sure where I would be if I was a witch. Being at the sorting ceremony would mean that I would get an objective opinion about what kind of person I am and where I would belong at Hogwarts.

2. The Library Scene- Beauty and the Beast

Basically; I just want to be Belle. I’ve always identified with her character, which is probably why I’ve watched the film at least a thousand times. Surprisingly, my favorite scene isn’t the big ballroom scene or the romantic kiss. For me, the best scene is when the Beast gives Belle his library.

I’m going to be honest, if I was Belle then the film would have stopped there. I would have locked myself away in my new library to read and the Beast would be pretty much resigned to his fate.

3. The Feast of Fools- Hunchback of Notre Dame

“Once a year we throw a party here in town,
Once a year we turn all Paris upside down,
Ev’ry man’s a king and ev’ry king’s a clown,
Once again it’s Topsy Turvy Day.”

Admit it, The Festival of Fools looks like one hell of a party. Until they chain Quasi up and throw stuff at him…. But until then, things are great and I can kind of see why Quasimodo risked what he did to go.

It was the one day of the year that the gypsies got to party and I can imagine that the atmosphere would just be amazing.

Also, I’m slightly in love with Clopin so…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Fictional Intruder

Leave a Reply

