The Names The Thing

Daily Prompt: Have you ever named an inanimate object? (Your car? Your laptop? The volleyball that kept you company while you were stranded in the ocean?) Share the story of at least one object with which you’re on a first-name basis.

This is Jim. Jim is a prop that I have from a dance show back when I was about fourteen and we did a dance to Michel Jacksons ‘Thriller’. Jim has lived in my room ever since then, but didn’t get a name until a few years ago when my four year old god-daughter came into my room and was instantly terrified. In an attempt to stop her from being so afraid, we gave him a name and a full back story. After getting to know Jim, she wasn’t afraid of him anymore so in this case, naming my inanimate object was pretty necessary.

I also have a Robin doorstop.

His name interchanges constantly based on the first Batman’s Robin names that comes into my mind. So at any time his name could be Dick, Damian, Jason, Tim, Stephanie etc. Because of this, my youngest sister has learnt a lot about the different Robins and can name them all as she walks past. There wasn’t really a reason to name my robin, it’s just further proof that I’m a geek.

I’ve also named a lot of my electronic devices, my laptop is called Jeff and my phone is called Nick. And yes, I did name them after the Warblers from Glee. I can’t bring myself to regret my Glee phase. Basically I only named my devices so that I would have something to yell when they mess up.

Have you named any of your inanimate objects? Just let me know in the comments. It would be nice to know that I’m not the only one who would do this to my belongings.

One thought on “The Names The Thing

Leave a Reply

